Skip to content Skip to menu
Main content Skip to sub menu

2018 VisAbility Awards

in Latest News, Stories of Independence
Image of Karin Boulton with Anne X. Karin was the recipient of the Junior Personal Achievement Award, sponsored by Fred and Lorna Craggs.
Image of Karin Boulton with Anne Barton. Karin was the recipient of the Junior Personal Achievement Award, sponsored by Angus Stewart.

On Saturday 17 November, we were delighted to hold the Biannual VisAbility Awards at our VisAbility Family Picnic, and recognise many highly deserving recipients in our community. The VisAbility Awards celebrate the achievements of ‘People and Places’ who share our vison for independence.

Enjoying the warm Spring afternoon, winners and their families gathered to celebrate. Special guests, Anne Barton (daughter of Angus Stewart) and Libby Lloyd (daughter of Ida Lloyd), presented Awards on behalf of their families. It was a fantastic afternoon spent celebrating worthy recipients.

Congratulations to all of the nominees, and the following recipients, on their awards. It is with great pleasure that we announce the 2018 VisAbility Award Winners:

The Ida Lloyd Fellowship Award for Inclusion is presented to young people who are blind or vision impaired to develop their social skills and independent living to assist their inclusion and participation into their community.

  • Shamira Martinez
  • Alan Leahy
  • Steffan Nero
  • Richard Brider
  • Michael Berg
  • Genevieve Weston
  • Karin Boulton
Image of Steffan Nero with Anne Barton. Steffan was the recipient of the Post-Secondary Personal Achievement Award sponsored by Angus Stewart.

The Angus Stewart Awards for Personal Achievement are presented to any individual living with disability and/or vision impairment who has strived to overcome hardship either financial, personal or physical to achieve their academic and social goals.

Junior Category
  • Zoe Coultard
  • Karin Boulton
  • Caitlin Hannen-Williams
Post-Secondary Category
  • Ming Hui Luo
  • Vanessa Vlajkovic
  • Steffan Nero
Open 30 years + Category
  • Thanh Tu

The Fred and Lorna Craggs Award for Excellence is presented to a young person (18 years or younger) living with a disability and/or vision impairment who has demonstrated excellence in a chosen field.

  • Jackson Hamilton
  • Karin Boulton
  • Richard Brider
  • Ally-Anne Gordon
  • Tegan Reder

The Fred and Lorna Craggs Award for Regional is to assist young people living in regional areas of WA who are blind or vision impaired to engage in the wider community.

  • Kaleb Glas
  • Brianna Merema
  • Michael Berg
Image of Nicole Abbott and Debra Barnes VisAbilitys Deputy CEO. Nicole accepted the Community Award on behalf of Goalball WA

The Acknowledgement Awards Categories include Professional Excellence and is awarded to a professional who has shared VisAbility’s vision for independence and enabled a young person(s) with disability or vision impairment to achieve in a chosen field.

Family Leadership Awards are presented to a parent or family member who has created opportunities for people with a disability to achieve greatness through mentoring, leadership and empathy.

Community Awards are presented to an organisation or environment that has ensured that people with disability are given opportunity of equal access to others.

Professional Excellence
  • Michelle Perche
  • Melissa Evans
  • Tyshana McEwen
  • Narelle Torrance
Family Leadership
  • Darren Coyle
  • Como Secondary College
  • Goalball WA

For more images, please visit our Facebook Page here: VisAbility Facebook